The Vintage Dirt Track Racing Association roared into Flint Creek Speedway in West Siloam Springs Oklahoma on Saturday, September 24. The event, held in conjunction with the annual Bikes, Blues, and BBQ Festival offered flat track racers and fans some great racing, and their first look at the new VDTRA and Grand Prix Hot Shoe Series under the new ownership of racer and owner of Grand Prix Speedworks, Jake Latimer.

The weather was great, the track was smooth, and the racing was exciting. This event should stand as a great foundation for the new era of VDTRA.  You can always have more racers and more fans in the stands.  But, overall the event was run efficiently, and as they say, “If you build it, they will come.”

VDTRA has one last event on the 2016 schedule coming up October 22-23 in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The plans are already in the works for a bigger, better 2017 which will include a broadened regional schedule and events in Sturgis, South Dakota.

Based on the event at Flint Creek Speedway, the future looks bright for flat track racing in Oklahoma and the surrounding states.  Racers should be excited that they will have a place to race and that there is now a series to train up young riders.


RESULTS from Flint Creek Speedway
#06 Reece Pottord
#X Jake Frese
Vet +30
#96   Kyle Martin
#579   Stephen Lyman
Pro Vintage 600
#89m   Robby England
#13G   Scott Raine
#42M   Mike Newton

Vintage 500
#46   Allen Jennings


Michael Tumminia's Winning Hooligan Racer

Michael Tumminia’s Winning Hooligan Racer

#92   Michael Tumminia
#X    Anthony Turpen



Pro OPEN Twins
#57    James Barnes
#53   Stephen Lyman

Vintage 250
#10D   Mark Pottord
#542    Wayne Marcotte

AM 250-450
#124   Tim Davis
#7N   Anthony Lochbaum

Pro 1980’s Vintage
#42m   Mike Newton
#89M   Robby England



Over 60
#53   Bronson Barnes
#579  Stephen Lyman
#29   J.R. Smith


Ian Washburn on the Victory lap

Ian Washburn on the Victory lap (Photo – Dayna Tiller)

Pro Open Singles
#24G Ian Washburn
#96 Kyle Martin
#7N Anthony Lachbaum
#13 Jason Walker
#124 Tim Davis
#13G Cody Raine
#57 Joseph Barnes